Hertford Juniors

Small school big learning

Our governors

What do school governors do?

Governors work with senior leaders in the strategic development of the school and in raising standards of achievement. Duties include setting the school’s vision, aims & objectives, approving the school budget and appointing the headteacher.

Governors must both support and challenge the headteacher, so need to gain an understanding of the school’s overall performance in order to explain its decisions and actions. They do this by attending regular meetings, carrying out school visits and meeting with senior leaders. They also attend training in order to keep up to date with the requirements of their role. Governors work as a team and make collective decisions.

Hertford Federation Governing Body

At a joint meeting on 15 May 2017, the governing bodies from Hertford Infant & Nursery School and Hertford Junior School voted to federate their governing bodies and adopt the new name of Hertford Federation.  The newly constituted Hertford Federation started on 3 July 2017 and all the appointed governors are listed below.  The governing body also agreed to appoint the deputy headteacher from each school as associate members. There are currently no vacancies on the governing body. 

Name Role  Term of office  Appointed by Original appt date
Rachel Attwell Co-opted governor  03.07.17 - 02.07.21 Governing body  01.09.09
Alison BartlettCo-opted governor03.07.17 - 02.07.21Governing body24.10.14
Jay Breslaw Co-opted governor 03.07.17 - 02.07.21 Governing body 01.06.08 
Carl Chambers Co-opted governor  03.07.17 - 02.07.21  Governing body  30.01.12 
Claire Coyne  Co-opted governor03.07.17 - 02.07.21Governing body  23.09.13 
Daniel Goodhand Parent governor 03.07.17 - 02.07.21 Elected by parents 03.07.17 
Justine Harvey Associate Member  03.07.17 - 02.07.21  Governing body  27.11.16 
Tracey Hill Local authority governor 03.07.17 - 02.07.21 Governing body 11.07.16 
Joan Marshall  Headteacher governor  03.07.17 -    Member by virtue of their office 01.01.09 
Zoe McGuiganHeadteacher governor 03.07.17 -  Member by virtue of their office06.01.14
Jenny Perrin    Co-opted governor  03.07.17 - 02.07.21
Governing body  18.01.12 
Katy Poole  Co-opted governor  03.07.17 - 02.07.21  Governing body  30.01.12 
Helen Quin Parent governor  03.07.17 - 02.07.21 Elected by parents  03.07.17 
Rob Rosenthal Co-opted governor   03.07.17 - 02.07.21  Governing body  30.05.12
Claire Taylor Co-opted governor 03.07.17 - 02.07.21 Governing body 06.07.15 
Lisa Tyson  Associate Member  03.07.17 - 02.07.21  Governing body  16.09.15 
Dee O'FlahertyStaff governor  03.07.17 - 02.07.21
Elected by staff03.01.17

In the past 12 months we also had the following members on the Hertford Junior School governing body:

Name Role Term of office Appointed by Left the GB Original appt date 
Sarah Miller

Staff governor

20.09.13 - 19.09.17 Elected by staff 22.07.16 05.10.09 
Hilary Silverwood Parent governor23.09.13 - 22.09.17    Elected by parents    22.09.16           23.09.13 
Jonathan Worthy-PaulingCo-opted governor 16.09.15 - 15.09.19 Governing body 04.01.17 16.09.15  
Jonathan Newman Parent governor 23.09.13 - 22.09.17 Elected by parents 02.07.17 23.09.13 


Register of interests 2016/17

Information is currently being collated for the new members of the Hertford Federation and this will be published in September 2017. 


Date declared

Business/pecuniary interests

Governance roles in other educational establishments 

Personal interests

Joan Marshall
22.09.16Headteacher at Hertford Junior School (HJS)NoneNone
Carl Chambers22.09.16Church of England Minister; Charity trusteeships - Cuba para Cristo None None 
Jenny Perrin22.09.16  Childcare Officer, Brighton & Hove City CouncilChair of Governors at Royal Spa Nursery School  Alan Perrin (husband) - coaches cricket club at HJS   
Helen Booth22.09.16 Assistant Headteacher at HJS; member of NUT None None 
Rachel Attwell22.09.16 Higher Level Teaching Assistant at HJS  NoneNone 
Claire Coyne22.09.16  Teacher at Brunswick Primary SchoolNone None 
Robert Rosenthal22.09.16 Employed at University of Sussex School of Education & Social Work;  Chair of Southdown Rise Residents' AssociationNone None 
Katy Poole22.09.16 Teacher at Dorothy Stringer School NoneNone 
Jonathan Worthy-Pauling22.09.16 NoneNone None 
Lisa Tyson22.09.16Deputy Headteacher at HJSNoneNone
Jonathan Newman20.10.16Viva Childcare (under 4s) NoneNone